Eviction Day Boredom Links: Take a Personality Inventory!

I have to go to court today–fun.  If you are bored on the Interwebs here are some illuminating personality inventories developed by Ali G’s brother cousin SIMON Baron Cohen , one of the leading researchers and writers on Aspergers and Autism.  The neatest one is the eye expression one.  Enjoy!

Systematizing Quotient Test

Empathy Quotient Test

Autism Spectrum Quotient

Reading the Mind in the Eyes

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Eviction Day Boredom Links: Take a Personality Inventory!

  1. sestamibi says:

    Thanks for the links. My 12-year old son, the most beautiful boy in the world, is low-functioning autistic, and I’ve noted how his eyes dart whenever I try to talk to him.

    By the way, Simon is Sasha’s (Ali G.) cousin, not brother.

  2. Pingback: Another Exciting Edition of Water Wet, Sky Blue, Sun Rises in East « Hidden Leaves

  3. IHTG says:

    What’s your score on the eye expression thing, Dana?

    Mine’s 25

  4. dana says:

    if i recall right i scored 17 when i first took it–ive messed with it too many times by now ill have to retake after a while

    • dana says:

      oh and almost all my wrong answers were the female, not male eyes, i literally could not discern expression in female eyes–eeeenteresting

  5. Bhetti says:

    Systemising: 38 (eep! almost. and definitely off for a girl.)
    Empathy: 36 (low-ish today.)
    Autism Spectrum: 13 (Am not autistiiic according to Simon. Not even borderline. Which contradicts above. )
    Mind in the Eyes: 28 (whoo, higher end. no difference in terms of sex… I seem to read more hostility than there is where I do go wrong.)

    Yes, my name is Bhetti and I am addicted to personality tests.

  6. Laura says:

    I got an 18 on systemizing.

  7. Ex-Chump says:

    The “Reading the Mind in the Eyes” one sucks. There is no way that photo 34 – of Claudia Schiffer I believe – is conveying any of the options presented. #10 – of Warren Beatty, I think – offers some inappropriate choices, too.

  8. Ex-Chump says:

    Correction about the Warren Beatty photo: I meant to say that none of the choices were appropriate.

  9. IHTG says:

    I suspect that being able to recognize people just by looking at their eyes is itself an indicator of your relative location on the autism spectrum (an indicator of non-autism).

  10. OneSTDV says:

    I’ve only taken the eye one and I got a 27, though I went through some of them quickly.

  11. unfrozencaveman says:

    Holy shit! I got 11 on the empathy quotient and 28 on the autism quotient.

    I think I leaned a bit aspie on the former, not so much on the latter. I definitely would’ve scored aspier when I was younger. One major problem with these tests is that some questions ask about how other people experience interactions with the test-taker, which you are less likely to know if you do have AS.

    Other people frequently tell me that what I’ve said is impolite, even though I think it is polite.

    Years ago, I was much more likely to do this, but it still happens from time to time. About a year ago I was very successfully chatting up a couple girls at a lively bar when, according to my buddy who was close enough to hear, I said a very wrong thing. It probably killed the mood, but I didn’t notice and didn’t really understand what had happened when things fizzled out. My buddy forgot the specific thing that I said, but he instantly recognized it as a mood killer.

    I find it easy to ‘read between the lines’ when someone is talking to me.

    While it’s natural for others, I’ve had to develop this skill. I’m much better at this than I once was, but I’m probably still worse than the average person, especially if you exclude the exceptionally dumb.

    Me: Ass Burgers

  12. dana says:

    systematizing 60(!?!?!?!?)
    empathy 16 omg
    aspergers quotient 42

    eyes 24 this time, but ive looked at the answer key a bunch of times in the past so i dont think it counts, i know i have no idea what the female eyes are doing they look blank and pretty to me

  13. OneSTDV says:

    Other people frequently tell me that what I’ve said is impolite, even though I think it is polite.

    I’ve extremely aware of the politeness of what I’m saying – but generally I don’t care. Or maybe more accurately, I say impolite things just for shiggles.

  14. OneSTDV says:

    I was looking at the Empathy test and it seems like I’ve both very empathetic and very apathetic.

    On the one hand, I’m acutely aware of what others are thinking and why something might bother them, but I don’t really care.

  15. dana says:

    i say this in the most neutral diagnostic tone possible–isnt that more indicative of psycho or sociopathic tendencies than aspergers? the aspy person lacks the ability to discern, the sociopath can discern but doesnt care

    i could be wrong

  16. unfrozencaveman says:

    isnt that more indicative of psycho or sociopathic tendencies than aspergers? the aspy person lacks the ability to discern, the sociopath can discern but doesnt care

    That sounds about right. There’s someone in my life who shows greater signs of AS than I do. When interacting with others, he tends to focus on himself and will bore others to death with the details of things that nobody else gives a shit about, and he doesn’t pick up on their lack of interest. However, when people or animals show obvious signs of suffering (like crying) he shows great concern and clearly feels bad for them.

    I think a lot of us have become less empathetic with age. It’s less stressful and more alpha to not give a shit.

  17. SFG says:

    26 on the eyes…but we’re all a bunch of nerds here, aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

